My Travel Wish List

Read more at www.reallygreatsite.com

Reykjavík
Reykjavik, Iceland

Reykjavik, Iceland
Iceland’s largest – and capital – city, Reykjavik has always been on my list of places to travel to. I want to check out the city center, float in the famous Blue Lagoon, and gaze up at the northern lights. My high school mascot was the Vikings, so I’d love to get to know more about the culture of the ancient people! Reykjavik seems like the perfect place to explore that history. From there, I also want to explore the gorgeous landscape of Iceland beyond the borders of civilization. It’s one gorgeous country, and I want to marvel at its full glory.

Kiyomizu-dera temple, Kyoto, Japan
Kiyomizu-dera temple, Kyoto, Japan

Tokyo and Kyoto, Japan
The land of sushi, geishas and cherry blossoms. Chock full of incredible culture and landscapes, I’ve always viewed Japan as a fairy tale land. I’ve always wanted to explore the neon-lit streets of Tokyo, but Kyoto is on the list because of its connection to traditional culture of the country. Top on my list of attractions is the Fushimi Inari Shrine, Daigoji Temple, and the historic Higashiyama District. And I can’t even begin to get into the food (I have a slight obsession with Japanese eats).  Sashimi and sushi of course, but I’d love to try fresh tofu, soba, tonkatsu and tea. Honestly, who wouldn’t want to go to Japan!

florence_italy_synagogue-of-florence-01
Florence, Italy

Florence, Italy
Italy is the land of my maternal ancestors. I’ve grown up listening to stories of the “old country,” eating Italian food, and reminiscing with the family elders of the language and where my immigrant forefathers came from. But Florence never really comes up (since I mostly hail from Sicilian descent). Italy’s Tuscany region looms in my mind with images of warm sunsets, fresh wine and unbeatable food. But this city is also filled with history, amazing architecture, priceless art and cultural landmarks I’d love to explore. My must-visit list: Piazza della Signoria, Duomo (Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore), Piazzale Michelangelo, and Baptistry (Battistero) – the oldest building in the city.

File:Flickr - MrSnooks - Cairo, Egypt (14).jpg
Cairo, Egypt

Cairo, Egypt
When I was younger, I was slightly obsessed with ancient Egyptian history. Mummies, hieroglyphs and the pyramids were exciting and mysterious.  This interest followed me into my adulthood – landing Cairo a spot on this list. First up to visit of course – the Pyramids of Giza, and of course the Egyptian museum. To get my shopping fix in, I’d love to explore the Khan el-Khalili bazaar. Experiencing some of the older mosques in the city is something I would certainly enjoy doing as well. And do I even have to mention food? I feel like it’s implied that I would revel in tasting some incredible Middle Eastern cuisine in the city that has so much to offer.

na_pali_coast2c_kauai2c_hawaii
Maui, Hawaii US

Maui, Hawaii US
Lounging on some of the most beautiful beaches in the world is only one reason why I’d like to visit Maui. The islands of Hawaii are rich in places to explore, and never offer up a dull moment. Of course, I’ve always wanted to go to a real luau, but I’d also like to hike Hawaii’s lava fields, snorkel off the coast and experience the rich marine life, and go swimming beneath the Three Bears waterfall. High on the list of attractions to participate in: Haleakala National Park, helicopter tour, Maui Ocean Center, Banyan Tree Park, Old Lahaina Luau, and driving the Road to Hana. The Polynesian beauty of Hawaii puts this high on my list.

The world opens its arms wide to exploration. I can’t wait to add more experiences to my life and I’m sure the same goes for you! If you’ve visited any of the places on my list above, feel free to share your travel memories in the comments!

Leave a Reply

