You’ve gotta be avoca-kidding me!

Summer is one of my favorite seasons.  I’m up early and home late – enjoying the long days and warm sun.

But a major plus (besides the weather, of course) of this season has GOT to be the food. Between BBQs with fresh corn on the cob, lobsters, oysters and steamers, and seasonal faves like watermelon and mangoes, I transport to food heaven for 3 months out of the year.

And as a millennial, I feel like I’m required to enjoy the food of my generation – the avocado.

1-1271073525uu4s
Behold: The avocado.

But what’s not to love? They’re relatively inexpensive, filling, healthy and versatile.

So without further ado, I’ve decided to share some of my favorite avocado recipes with you (millennial or no millennial)!

Avocado Toast

20167439714_d67313ef41_b
This is the brunch staple of a generation.

What’s with the dissing of avocado toast lately? This is a fast and easy go-to for lunch when I’m home enjoying the patio on the weekends, or having friends over for a quick bite.

Extremely customize-able, filling and simply enjoyable, I love me some avocado toast.

My favorite recipe:

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 slices of Bread
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Sriracha powder/red pepper flakes

Mash the avocado with a fork to a chunky consistency. Squeeze lemon juice to taste into mixture; add in salt and pepper to taste. Toast 2 bread slices (I like lightly toasted) and spread the avocado onto each. Top with a drizzle of olive oil and your favorite sriracha powder or red pepper flakes.

Avocado Caprese Salad

Growing up in an Italian family, there are always 2 things in my refrigerator: Mozzarella cheese and tomatoes.

640px-caprese-1
Your standard caprese salad.

Everyone knows about caprese salad – layered slices of mozzarella and cheese with a drizzle of balsamic and basil (YUM), but I like to make mine with avocado slices, too! It adds another layer of taste and coolness to the light meal on a hot summer evening.

My favorite recipe:

  • 1 avocado
  • Fresh mozzarella cheese (can be pre-sliced)
  • 1 tomato
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Balsamic vinaigrette dressing
  • Fresh basil

Slice the tomato, avocado, and mozzarella, layering each piece over each other in a circular pattern. Top with a light sprinkle of salt and pepper, and add a few fresh basil leaves per bite for extra Italian goodness!

Baked Eggs and Avocado 

32067568803_73644040d8_b
Egg + avocado = YUM.

This one took me by surprise one day when it popped up on my Pinterest – but I am so happy it did. Part of the Paleo diet, this is a very filling alternative to your Sunday stay-home brunch, and it definitely deserves a spot on this list.

My favorite recipe:

  • 1 avocado, halved and pit removed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 – 4 sliced of cooked bacon, crumbled
  • 1 tsp of chives, chopped
  • Fresh parsley leaves
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 425˚F. Place the 2 avocado halves into a baking dish (I usually use glass), and ensure that they’re propped enough so they don’t tip over. Crack the eggs into a bowl, ensuring that the yolks don’t break. Spoon each egg –yolk and whites—into an avocado half. If the avocado pit is too small, scoop out some of the middle so the egg will fit without spilling. Season each egg and avocado with salt, pepper, chives and parsley to taste. Bake until the egg is thoroughly cooked, about 15-20 minutes. Top with crumbled bacon bits, serve and enjoy.

Avocado Cocktail

Yes – you read that right. I went to a bar with a friend one night, and they had an avocad

o daiquiri on the menu. I was too curious to resist, and I’ve been in love ever since. Avocados have a creamy, smooth texture and a light flavor, so they make a great summer drink base. Plus, it makes you feel  a little less guilty about going in for a second.

My favorite recipe:

  • 2 oz of light rum
  • 2 oz gold rum
  • ¼ lemon, juiced
  • ¼ lime, juiced
  • 3 oz simple syrup (2 parts sugar, 2 parts water, boiled and cooled)
  • ½ avocado, peeled and pit removed
  • ½ oz of ½ and ½ or light cream (or coconut milk)
  • 1 ½ cups ice

Combine all the ingredients in a blender until smooth. Divide into 2 glasses and serve. For a non-alcoholic version, simply leave out the rum.

Avocado Grilled Cheese 

Avocado is light, slightly nutty in flavor, and smooth. Cheese is simply delicious. Combine the 2, and you’ve got me sold. This is another lunch favorite of mine since I tried it a few years ago on a whim. I actually stepped it up a bit further and tried a green goddess grilled cheese sandwich. Check out the recipe below.

My favorite recipe:

–Mayo spread-

  • 2 Tbsps + 2 tsps chopped basil leaves
  • 2 Tbsps + 2 tsps chopped chives
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • zest and juice of ½ a lemon
  • ¼  tsp salt
  • ½  cup light mayonnaise

–Sandwich—

  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 2-4 lettuce leaves, washed and dried
  • 4 bread slices
  • 2 slices mozarella
  • 2 slices provologne cheese

In a bowl, combine all ingredients except for the lemon juice. Puree until the mix is smooth, about 2 minutes.  Blend in the lemon juice. Chill until needed. Toast the bread and spread with a thick layer of the mayonnaise. Add on the other sandwich ingredients. I recommend heating in the oven or convection oven for a few minutes. Slice and done! This should make 2 sandwiches.

Guacamole

Guacamole
You all know what this is … right?

This is the golden chalice of party food. I usually whip up some creamy guac for taco night or even as a snack when I’m watching a movie at home. This is my sister’s absolute favorite too. Honestly, come to think of it … I’ve never even met someone who hates guacamole …

My favorite recipe:

  • 3 avocados, halved, peeled and pitted
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • ½  tsp salt
  • ½  tsp ground cumin
  • ½  tsp cayenne
  • ½ yellow onion, finely diced
  • ½ jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely minced – Optional
  • 2 tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1 tbsp fresh, chopped cilantro
  • 1 clove garlic, finely minced

In a large bowl, toss the avocado and lime juice just enough to coat.  Drain and reserve the excess lime juice. Using a potato masher, add the salt, cumin, and cayenne. Mash until well-mixed. Fold in the onions, tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Add the extra lime juice to taste. Toss your favorite chips in a bowl and have fun!

The health benefits of avocados are well-known. In fact, this is often referred to as a “superfood,” with more potassium than bananas, tons of fiber, and heart-healthy fatty acids. The most popular type of avocado is the Haas, and remember that a ripe avocado should be slightly soft when squeezed, with a yellow center and no brown spots on the interior. An unripe (or overly ripe) avocado will ruin your whole day.

If you tried any of these recipes, feel free to leave feedback in the comments! I’d love to know what you think.

One thought on “You’ve gotta be avoca-kidding me!

Leave a Reply

